top of page
Buscar
  • maisha182003

House of the U.S. Ambassador in Peru

This month of February was very important for me because I had the opportunity to

participate in a meeting in the house of the U.S. Ambassador here in Peru, in the

meeting played a group called Lundú which plays Peruvian music and is originally from

Arequipa, a city in my country, at the meeting I also met one of my favorite Afro-

Peruvian artists, Susana Baca, she is a singer, composer, music researcher and educator,

she is also recognized by the three times winner of the Latin Grammy awards, Since I

can remember Susana Baca is my role model because despite the many limitations

towards Afro Peruvians in my country, most of them do not want to accept her, she was

able to get ahead and not only representing the Afro Peruvian music but also being a

representation of the Afro Peruvian people in politics as she was Minister of Culture, at

the meeting I had the opportunity to talk and take a picture with her, which makes me

very happy. At the end of the presentation of the group Lundú I talked with a group of

young Afro-Peruvians who have the same ambitions as me, which is to make Peru a

better place, free of discrimination and racism, in these conversations some members of

Lundú joined us and I could also take pictures with them. Personally it was a very nice

meeting and full of experience for me and for the young people who participated, and I

am very grateful for it.




3 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas Recientes

Ver todo

Comments


Publicar: Blog2_Post
bottom of page